Log in

Log in

Wisconsin Student Writers Win Statewide Honors

Wed, May 08, 2019 11:42 AM | Anonymous

Madison, WI, May 8, 2019: The Wisconsin Writers Association (WWA) announced the winners of its annual Wisconsin Public High School Writing Contest. Emily Elfner, from Arrowhead Union High School of Hartland, WI, and Justice Wells of Black Hawk High School in South Wayne, WI, shared first place honors in this year’s competition.

Emily Elfner won first prize for her piece, “Welcome to Spain”, a vivid description of the Spanish tortilla that fully captures the cultural experience.

Justice Wells was also named a first prize winner for his essay, “Auschwitz”, a haunting and dramatic commentary on the Nazi death camp.

Arrowhead Union High School dominated the rest of the competition, taking second and third place prizes. Nicole Larson and Rachel Kriehn were named co-winners of second prize. Joanna Wahmhoff and Jordon Gravelle shared third place honors.

Jackie Granger, WWA Member and Program Chair of the Youth Committee Member, said, “Student writing is so important. Any time a young person creates a story or an essay, whatever it is, she or he reaches deep inside, going somewhere new and unexpected. It’s a kind of creative magic that occurs in the mind. Such a lovely thing. We’re so pleased to encourage our young writers.”

In 2020, WWA will again hold its annual statewide writing contest for Wisconsin public high school students, grades 9 through 12. Designed to encourage and nurture students’ creative writing, the contest opens December 1, 2019, closes March 1, 2020.

Founded in 1948, the Wisconsin Writers Association is a creative community dedicated to the support of writers and authors. WWA sponsors and hosts year-round conferences and events throughout Wisconsin, offering discounts and exclusive resources. The Association aims to share experiences and knowledge while encouraging its members in their pursuit of this most noble art—Develop your craft. Discover resources. Expand your network. Build your audience.  Visit


# # #


Wisconsin Writers Association

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software