Log in

Log in


Hosted by Steve Fox, Jim Landwehr and Greg Renz

Writing is a practice that takes discipline and perseverance. While many aspire to write that novel, or journal every day, or start a blog, many find it difficult to exercise the discipline to get their “butt in the chair” on a regular basis. However, those who are intentional and committed to writing through the feast and famine of their muse, are often the most prolific and successful. 

They stick with an idea, carve out time strictly devoted to the craft, and follow through to the end. Their perseverance pays off in traditionally published book contracts, award-winning work and, most of all, the satisfaction that comes with seeing their stories through to the end.

Join authors, Steve Fox, Jim Landwehr, and Greg Renz as they talk about their techniques, tips, and tricks for taking their writing to the wider world. They will share the ups and downs of the process, and how keeping their butts in the chair helped them grow and succeed as writers.

Free to current WWA members. Register HERE.


Jim Landwehr has four published memoirs, At the Lake, Cretin Boy, Dirty Shirt, and The Portland House. He also has five poetry collections, Thoughts from a Line at the DMV, Genetically Speaking, Reciting from Memory, Written Life and On a Road. His nonfiction has been published in Main Street Rag, The Sun Magazine, and others. His poetry has been featured in Orchard Poetry Journal, Blue Heron Review and many others. He lives in Waukesha, Wisconsin with his wife and enjoys fishing, kayaking, biking and all things outdoors. Jim was the 2018-2019 poet laureate for the Village of Wales, Wisconsin.


Gregory Lee Renz is an author and retired Milwaukee Hall-of-Fame Fire Captain. When he retired he thought he might like to write a novel based on the deep well of experiences his career provided. After only ten years of conferences, workshops, and creative writing courses through the University of Wisconsin, he published his debut novel, BENEATH THE FLAMES, which went on to win the gold medal in the Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards, the IAN Debut Novel of the year, a Midwest Book Award, an American Book Fest International Award, and a Public Safety Writers Award.


Steve Fox is the winner of the Rick Bass Montana Fiction Prize, the Zona Gale Award for Short Fiction, The Great Midwest Writing Contest, the Jade Ring Award, and the Midwestern Gothic Summer Flash Contest. His fiction has appeared in New Ohio Review, Orca, Michigan Quarterly Review, Whitefish Review, and others. His short-story collection, Sometimes Creek, was published by Cornerstone Press in January 2023 and was named winner of the American Book Fest 2023 Best Book Award for Short Fiction. Sometimes Creek is also a finalist for the Chicago Writers Association Book of the Year Awards. Steve lives in Hudson, and you can find him online at and @stevefoxwrites (instagram, fb, twitter).

Wisconsin Writers Association

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software